Canceled My Google Workspace Account

I Deleted my Google Workspace account that I have been using for over 10 years. It provided me with the kor@tortui.com email account. Instead I have switched to a gmail account I obtained by invitation when Gmail was very young.

One reason I canceled the account was that although it was initially free, Google began to charge for it about a year ago. Although maintaining the account wasn’t that much work, sometimes it created problems that took me a considerable amount of time to resolve. In fact, a couple of years ago I began having security issues with Gmail which prevented some people from being able to email me. Because I was using the tortui.com domain name for this wordpress account, I had to make changes here and on Enom where my domain is registered. As you can see below, I had to point my domain to the wordpress domain servers. Before that I was using enom’s default DNS configuration which had been working for years. It probably stopped working because Google instigated more stringent email authentication measures.

Preparing to delete my Workspace account has taken me a couple of months of preparation. The biggest task was moving 30,000 emails to my current gmail account. It wouldn’t have been that difficult if it hadn’t have been for the gmail labels which I had to recreate and re-label thousands of emails.

…to be continued

Author: korkiley

Systems Administrator at University of Vermont (retired as of 7/1/2012) Married Favorite Activities: Condor Glider Online Competition, Developing web sites, making espresso, and keeping a blog

Leave a comment